top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKacha

Art University and how to not discourage yourself from not getting into one

Updated: Apr 24, 2021

Have you tried to get to your dream school or university and didn’t get there? Someone can call it a failure, but from my experience it’s just something that will teach you the skill of accepting obstacles in your life. Nobody said that it would be easy, life isn’t easy and school is just the opening gate to life. The important things will follow, no matter if you have a degree or not. If you really want to work and incorporate in the art industry, you can find a way to reach your goal.



What I've learned

I tried to get into my dream university, tried and failed. Not one, not two times, but three times. Did I learn something from that? You may think that I learned something like: “You don’t have to succeed even if you try it more times.” which is true too, but my main lesson I learned from this is: “Failure isn’t the end of the world. It’s just a new experience.” So, no matter that I didn’t get there, this school taught me something indirectly. To not focus on failure as something that will ruin you, but to focus on it as a new experience and it should teach you acceptance of rejection.


My experience

My first unsuccessful try was probably the hardest one to get through. Freshly out of secondary school you may think that if you don’t get to the school you wanted, you would probably end up in some inferior job, but that’s not true. Not if you help it; you always have other opportunities.


I’m still trying to figure out my life, but I see my direction. I want to become an artist, which would be able to earn for living just by doing art.


Inspiration from others

I know that many artists didn’t have an easy way of getting into the art industry and it’s probably one of the hardest departments to take root in. But if you read some articles about popular artists, did they actually study art university?


Many artists were learning on their own, earning experience from practise. They managed to find time to improve their hobbies up to the point they became really good at it, they found a way to grow their skills and then managed to get new jobs in the art industry. Some of them sooner, others later. I read about artists starting in industry in their 40s. You’re never too old for doing what you love.



So, in short, no matter how life obstacles may discourage you, if you really want and do something to achieve your dream, you can do it. First step is to believe in yourself!


34 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page